View from the top of Haystacks, Lake District

Walking Group

The Walking Group organises walks throughout the year and has been in existence since 1995.

Walks normally take place on the first Saturday of the Month. Evening walks take place from May to August. Travel is either by shared cars or by train. Traditionally we have a short social break at the end of each walk before travelling home.

Special events include a weekend away, a ‘Mystery Walk’, an Annual Dinner and a short morning walk between Christmas and New Year followed by lunch.

The Group is not only open to church members but also to the wider community. Due to the combination of the walks and social aspects many new friendships have been made, new members are made most welcome.

The Group recommends that all walkers come equipped to meet the varied nature of the Scottish Weather and the variety of ground that we cover in the Scottish countryside.

If you might be interested in joining us please make contact through the Church Office.

Programme of Walks – 2017-18

For past walks, click on the title to read a report of that walk

Date Walk
Sat 2 December Renfrewshire Walk
Sat 27 December Chatelherault morning walk followed by lunch at Wetherspoons
Sat 3 February Ayr circular
Sat 3 March Stirling circular
Sat 31 March High Level – CruachTairbeit
Low Level – Tarbet Glen Douglas
Sat 12 May Arrochar – Glen Loin circular
Thu 17 May Evening Walk – Cathkin Braes
Sat 2 June High Level – Ben Ledi
Low Level – Callander old rail line (out and in)
Thu 14 June Evening Walk – Rennie Mackintosh Glasgow tour
Sat 7 July Aberfoyle circular
Thu 19 July Evening Walk – Dalzell bird sanctuary circular
Sat 4 August Arran – Sannox to Brodick via Glen Rossa
Thu 16 August Evening Walk – Pollock Country Park
Sat 1 September High Level – Devil’s Beef Tub
Low Level – In Moffat area (Detail to be arranged)
21 – 24 September Weekend Away at Derwent Water Hotel
Walks to be arranged
Sat 6 October Glen Ogle to Strathyre
Sat 3 November Mystery walk and annual dinner
Sat 1 December Greenock Cut

The above Programme may be altered due to weather or other unforeseen circumstances.

For most Saturday walks, meet outside Cambuslang Parish Church, Arnott Way at 8:30 AM.
For all Thursday evening walks, meet outside Cambuslang Parish Church, Arnott Way at 6:30 PM.

Walking Archive

Past year’s walking reports can be viewed by clicking on the links below: