View from the top of Haystacks, Lake District

Walking Group

The Walking Group organises walks throughout the year and has been in existence since 1995.

Walks normally take place on the first Saturday of the Month. Evening walks take place from May to August. Travel is either by shared cars or by train. Traditionally we have a short social break at the end of each walk before travelling home.

Special events include a weekend away, a ‘Mystery Walk’, an Annual Dinner and a short morning walk between Christmas and New Year followed by lunch.

The Group is not only open to church members but also to the wider community. Due to the combination of the walks and social aspects many new friendships have been made, new members are made most welcome.

The Group recommends that all walkers come equipped to meet the varied nature of the Scottish Weather and the variety of ground that we cover in the Scottish countryside.

If you might be interested in joining us please make contact through the Church Office.

Programme of Walks – 2016-2017

For past walks, click on the title to read a report of that walk

2016
Date Walk
Sat 3 December Balloch – Dumbarton by Train
Tue 27 December Bridgeton – Cambuslang via Clyde Walkway, lunch in Wetherspoons
2017
Sat 4 February Carluke Circular
Sat 4 March Drymen – Aberfoyle
Sat 1 April High Level – Pentland Hills
Low Level – Pentland Reservoirs
Sat 6 May Ayr River Circular Walk
Thu 18 May Evening Walk – Whitelee Wind Farm
Sat 3 June High Level – Bridge of Orchy – Ben Doran
Low Level – Section of West Highland Way, Crianlarich to Bridge of Orchy
Thu 15 June Evening Walk – Strathclyde Park
Sat 1 July Arran – Details to follow
Thu 20 July Evening Walk – Cambuslang Circular
Sat 5 August High Level – Luss Hills
Low Level – Luss Glen
Thu 17 August Evening Walk – Rouken Glen
Sat 2 September Tinto Circular
22 – 25 September Weekend away at Derwent Water Hotel, walks to be arranged
Sat 7 October Stronachlachar to Loch Chon and back
Sat 4 November Mystery Walk and Annual Dinner
Sat 2 December Renfrewshire Walk

The above Programme may be altered due to weather or other unforeseen circumstances.

For most Saturday walks, meet outside Cambuslang Parish Church, Arnott Way at 8:30 AM.
For all Thursday evening walks, meet outside Cambuslang Parish Church, Arnott Way at 6:30 PM.

Walking Archive

Past year’s walking reports can be viewed by clicking on the links below: